Welcome to The Paradigm Press!

Pop quiz: which of these are true?

  1. Popularly media disproportionately focuses on abled straight cis white people – especially men in gaming and comic book circles.
  2. Misconceptions in media have led many people to fear such terms as ‘feminism,’ ‘social justice,’ and ‘Black Lives Matter.’
  3. It has been proven time and time again that stories focusing on women, POC, LGBTQIA+ people, and whathaveyou not only make money, but gain media attention, and as such are demonstrably not ‘niche.’
  4. All of the above.

If you picked ‘4,’ then you and I have something in common. Technically if you picked anything, we have something in common. I like to start with the common ground.

Allow me to introduce myself: JR, not Jr. Editor and Chief of The Paradigm Press. I am a queer POC nerd who is very tired. But I’ve got just enough fight left in me to take to the interwebs and write about these things that have made me so tired. Namely: comics, TV, movies, video games, and how they can learn to expand their idea of what their audience actually looks like.

Now, I’m really not suggesting that we turn Superman into a Black transman. I would read the shit out of that comic, but in the end that’s not precisely what I want. What I want is to focus on the future, and how we can do better there. That is, focusing on the development of new characters that break down the popular paradigm and represent the evolving demographics of media consumers. And I’m talking about good representation here. Of queerness, of disability, of mental illness – all these things that the creative media continues to shy away from.

In addition to that, I will make it my business to continually praise what’s been done well and, of course, critique what’s been done poorly. Or not done at all.

With all of that in mind:

Welcome to The Paradigm Press!

Leave a Reply

